Central nervous system

The Central Nervous System consists of the Brain & the Spinal Cord. The Brain & Spinal are both sheathed within a protective triple layered membrane called the leptomeninges. The basic unit of the Central Nervous System is the neuron (nerve cell) Billions of neurons allow the different parts of the body to communicate with each other via the brain & the spinal cord. A fatty material myelin, coats the nerve cells to insulate them and to allow nerves to communicate swiftly.